Off Center 2022

Connect with the Exhibition

Tina Opp_TokenHolder_sm

Token Holder by Tina Opp

3rd Saturday Art Walk Opening Reception:
Saturday, August 20th
Artist Lecture: 4-5PM  (MARK ABILDGAARD)
Reception: 5-8pm

3rd Saturday Art Walk Closing Reception:
Saturday, September 17th, 4-8pm
Artist Lecture: 4-5PM (OFF CENTER ARTISTS)
Reception: 5-8pm
People's Choice Award Announcement: 6pm

Ellen Kleckner_Juncture5(Anthony)_sm

Junction 5 (Anthony) by Ellen Kleckner

From the Juror

Off Center, Blue Line Arts’ annual competition, highlights the dynamic medium of clay, and 2022 is no exception. No single technique or artistic approach dominated some 160 submissions, and works included Japanese-inspired tea bowls, portraits of world leaders, and biomorphic sculptures. Such diversity, of course, may be attributed to the malleability of clay, but it also demonstrates the pluralist society in which we live. Not surprisingly, Northern California’s strong Funk tradition still resonates with some artists, but there is also a resurgence of the vessel, be it functional or sculptural, while others situated ceramics in the domestic context to evoke memory and loss.

Given these different manifestations of clay, my criteria for choosing a piece to be exhibited also varied according to the category and turned largely on how successfully the work expressed the maker’s objective, be it functional or artistic. Charged with the task of choosing three prize winners, I relied on the criteria of innovation of concept and quality of execution.  
I congratulate all the exhibitors.  What is clear from your submissions is that the ceramic medium is in good hands.

- Rachel Gotlieb, Ph.D.

Rachel Gotlieb headshot (2)

Rachel Gotlieb, Ph.D. is the inaugural Ruth Rippon Curator of Ceramics at the Crocker Art Museum. Dr. Gotlieb is a leading modern and contemporary ceramics specialist with a particular interest in 19th-century ceramics. Previously, she was the Adjunct Curator and the former Chief Curator at the Gardiner Museum of Ceramic Art, Toronto.

Statements on the prize winners will be posted after announcements.